Monday, June 28, 2010

I'm Home!

I'm back! Home sweet home. My home sweet home has been invaded by my mom's stuff... But I am jumping ahead, let me rewind first.

We got to NY last Wednesday night, late, very late. My children are not good car sleepers. Christopher slept for the first half hour of the ride and the last 15 minutes. Evan maybe slept for half of the ride if that. They were not trouble makers though so the wakefulness wasn't a huge problem. Well we visited with some friends, saw my dad(Bagel Grandpa), I had a girls day out with my two best friend Kerri & Nina, looking for bridesmaid dresses for Nina's wedding.

Through all of this, a dark cloud followed me through the days(yes, my Eyore syndrome returned). On Saturday I woke up and started to get ready to go to her apartment alone. I decided I should do that so I knew my boys would have their daddy if they couldn't have me and so that I wouldn't have any distractions. I wanted to pack up, go to the cemetery, and get out! Her hubby is not a morning person so I figured I would get there around 11:30. Around 12, thanks to my handy GPS affectionately names Becky I arrived safely and with my car in tact, even after parallel parking. And a quick FYI, I am thankful to God that I remembered my defensive driving skills because you should need to have a special license to drive in NYC.

I never could have imagined what I was walking into. Their two bedroom apartment was filled to the brim with stuff. I'm talking, limited walking space with even less room to sit... After going through the stuff that he left out for me, I began to tackle the bedroom, bookshelves stuffed with books, dressers stuffed with clothes, nightstand stuffed... Anything that could be stuffed, was stuffed. After a little while I moved to the second bedroom. The bed was piled high with everything and anything. Papers, books, hangers, bags, clothes... I tried to do as much in this room as possible, but it was so overwhelming and I really felt like I wasn't even making a dent in the piles. I decided after talking to my hubby to skip the cemetery and just sort through as much as possible with the understanding that I would have to make at least one more trip. I probably packed 6 bags of clothes, loads of books, and a ridiculous amount of paper.

After working for hours and stopping briefly for pizza(probably the best NY pizza I've ever had) and a chocolate italian ice(in honor of mom) I made an executive decision to work until 5 and then call it a day. In about an hour and a half, we were able to clear 1 closet (WAHOO!). It then took us an hour to pack up my car... AN HOUR!!! I then sat in traffic for most of the ride back to my friends apartment, about 2 hours... When I got there I wanted bed & food, junk food, badly! I ate a sick amount of sour cream and onion chips while I waited for Kenny's return with my other bff and my Wendy's dinner, cheeseburger, fries, and a coffee toffee frosty. Then we stayed up past midnight at an impromptu slumber party.

By the time I got up a few short hours later, I couldn't imagine doing anything else but driving home. So we skipped our evening plans of seeing my favorite fireworks display with some old friends and hit the road.

So here I am. Home with about 10 boxes of stuff that I am working at a fast pace to get through. I WANT IT DONE! I know this sounds emotionless and robotic, but this is just the outline of my day. The rest will have to wait for tomorrow.

No comments:

Post a Comment